Monday, January 16, 2023

Designing In Real Time

I know that people sometimes live stream their drawings or design process... so I'm sort of going to do that with Hack'D & Slash'D second edition; I've got a Google Doc going with the content I make as I actually make it. This means that the document is going to change markedly over time. What's there today might not be there tomorrow (or even later today), or it might end up making the final cut of the game. You can follow along right here:

Today, I added a revised set of rules for tally dice and casting. Originally, I tried to get the tally system to emulate B/X as closely as I could. Now, I have re-written it to be as simple and clean as it can be. Here's the draft that is posted in the link above... I like this 'spell point but not a spell point system' very much. It's got a lot going for it.

4.02: Cantrips

Cantrips are minor magic. As a caster, you may cast your level + your casting trait (ex: reason for mages) cantrips per day; after this, each additional cantrip has a 1 in 6 chance of being your final for that day. As a warden 4 with intuition 5, you have 9 free cantrips per day; from cantrip 10 forward, each has a 1 in 6 chance of being your last for that day. 

4.03: Spellcasting and Tally Dice

As a caster, you have access to magic tiers equal to half your level; as a level 7 or 8 mage, you have access to spells of tiers 1-4; when you move to level 9, you gain access to tier 5 arcane spells. You have a ‘free’ pool of tiers of magic each day equal to your level; you furthermore have a number of tallies of spells equal to your level before your spell power for that day is exhausted. After each spell (beyond those ‘free’ points based on your level), roll 1d6. If you roll equal to or below the tier of the spell you just cast, you receive a tally. When your tallies equal your level, you are out of spells for that day. If you have some ‘free’ spell power left but cast a spell of higher tier, receive +1 edge on that tally check, discarding the lower die. For example, you have 1 point remaining, but cast a tier 3 spell. Roll 2d6, discarding the lower die. If you roll a 3 or lower on both dice, you take one tally. 

In Play: As a mage 3, you have access to tier 1 and tier 2 arcane spells. On one day, you can cast three tier 1 spells or a tier 2 spell and two tier 1 spells before you begin taking tallies. Thereafter, each tier 1 spell gives a tally on a roll of 1 on 1d6; each tier 2 spell gives a tally on a roll of 1-2 on a 1d6. Once you reach 3 tallies on the day (your level), you are out of spell power for that day. As a cleric 7, you have access to tier 1, 2, 3, and 4 spells. You could cast one tier 4 spell and three tier 1 spells (for example) before you begin taking tallies. Thereafter, you receive a tally every time you roll the spell tier of the spell you just cast or lower on 1d6. At 7 tallies you are out of spells for that day.

No comments:

Post a Comment